Know Your Prakriti

Know your prakriti

Prakriti is our body constitution. Every person is born with a definite genetic constitution, determined by dominant doshas (three vital energies), genetic & environmental factors, food and lifestyle of the mother and of course the five elements (Panchamahabhuta) that make up a fetus.

There are three major types of Prakriti and these reflect predominance of that particular Dosha. Our body behaves according to the status of Dosha Prakriti. Each constitution offers a distinct physical & mental profile.

  1. Physical functioning 
  2. Mental & Emotional behavioral pattern

If we know our prakriti then we can avoid health problems by following regimen that suits our prakriti.

There are seven possible Prakriti (constitution) types :-

  1. Vata Prakriti
  2. Pitta Prakriti
  3. Kapha Prakriti
  4. Vata-Pitta Prakriti
  5. Vata-Kapha Prakriti
  6. Pitta-Kapha Prakriti
  7. Tridosha Prakriti


Therefore Prakriti is important to know

  1. Who I am? (On the basis of my vata, pitta, kapha constitution)
  2. What should I eat?
  3. What should I avoid?
  4. What should I eat in moderation?
  5. What should I eat occasionally?
  6. What should I follow in my life style? Etc.

With the knowledge of one’s Prakriti, it is practically possible to apply Ayurvedic fundamentals in maintenance of health as well as prevention and cure of diseases.